Backcasting

A scientific Backcasting in futures studies generally involves four different and distinct stages.

We use this method for:

  • Stage 1

    Vision of the future

    Firstly, a target situation in a long-term future (e.g. a heavily desired scenario with a time horizon of usually 10 years or a previously developed vision) is defined as a common goal and the basis for any further consideration of the working group.

  • Stage 2

    Alternative Ways

    In the second stage, alternative paths to the target scenario are broken down by looking back in time from this hypothetically desired future to the present. Here, the participants discuss and elaborate how in retrospect, beginning at the far end of the timetable, a development could be feasibly reconstructed. Once a reasonable agreement on the path from the future to the present-day situation has been achieved, the next step can be initiated.

  • Stage 3

    Isolation

    In the third phase, individual steps are isolated and defined in more detail. Where must an entity be in exactly 1, 2,3 or 4 years in order to reach its goal in 2030? What are specific restrictions, time constraints and aspects that are interrelated, reliant on other crucial developments. What is essential, what is optional and what should be the main focal point in achieving the vision? Here, a healthy debate is productive. Similar to the steps before and after, they could be completed by an individual, provide however, much better results in a group setting.

  • Stage 4

    Planning

    Once the tangible steps are worked out, the final stage is heralded. The result of this exercise is an understanding and overview of each participant concerning the different options and possible pathways to action. The output is an actionable impression of how different aspects fit together hierarchically in time. Done correctly, Backcasting provides a detailed roadmap entailing imminent crucial actions needing to be put into motion to ensure the ability to reach self-set goals in a long-term time horizon.

2b AHEAD ThinkTank GmbH

Spinnereistraße 7 I Halle 20 E
D-04179 Leipzig
Tel: +49 341 124 79 610
kontakt@2bahead.com
Web: www.thinktank-universe.com

Follow us

Backcasting

Ein wissenschaftliches Backcasting in Zukunftsstudien umfasst im Allgemeinen vier verschiedene voneinander getrennte Phasen.  

Wir nutzen diese Methode bei:

  • Phase 1

    Zukunftsbild

    Zunächst wird eine Zielsetzung in einer Langzeitperspektive (beispielsweise ein vielversprechendes Szenario mit einem Zeithorizont bis zu 10 Jahren oder eine zuvor entwickelte Vision) als ein gemeinsam definiertes Projektziel und als Grundlage für die weiteren Überlegungen der Forschungsgruppe festgelegt. 

  • Phase 2

    Alternative Wege

    In der zweiten Phase werden alternative Wege zum Zielszenario aufgeschlüsselt, indem von dieser potentiell gewünschten Zukunft in die Gegenwart zurückgeblickt wird. Hier diskutieren und erarbeiten die Projektbeteiligten, wie im Rückblick beginnend am äußersten Ende des Zeitplans, eine Entwicklung nachvollzogen werden kann. Sobald eine realistische Übereinstimmung über den Weg von der Zukunft zur Gegenwart erreicht ist, kann der nächste Schritt eingeleitet werden. 

  • Phase 3

    Isolation

    In der dritten Phase werden die einzelnen Schritte isoliert und näher definiert. Wo muss eine Einheit in genau 1, 2, 3 oder 4 Jahren sein, um ihr Ziel im Jahr 2030 zu erreichen? Was sind spezifische Einschränkungen, Zeitvorgaben und Aspekte, die miteinander verbunden sind und von anderen entscheidenden Entwicklungen abhängen? Was ist wesentlich, was ist optional und was sollte der Hauptfokus bei der Verwirklichung der Vision sein? Hier ist eine gesunde Debatte sinnvoll. Ähnlich wie die vorhergehenden und nachfolgenden Schritte könnten sie auch von einer Einzelperson durchgeführt werden, liefern aber in einer Gruppe wesentlich bessere Ergebnisse. 

  • Phase 4

    Planung

    Sobald die konkreten Schritte ausgearbeitet sind, wird die letzte Phase eingeleitet. Das Ergebnis dieser Übung ist ein Verständnis und ein Überblick jedes Teilnehmers über die verschiedenen Optionen und möglichen Wege zum Handeln. Das Ergebnis ist ein handlungsorientierter Eindruck davon, wie verschiedene Aspekte zeitlich hierarchisch zusammenpassen. Wenn das Backcasting erfolgreich durchgeführt wurde, liefert es einen detaillierten Fahrplan, der unmittelbar bevorstehende, entscheidende Aktionen beinhaltet. Diese müssen in Gang gesetzt werden, um die Fähigkeit zu gewährleisten, die selbst gesetzten Ziele in einem langfristigen Zeithorizont zu erreichen. 

2b AHEAD ThinkTank GmbH

Spinnereistraße 7 I Halle 20 E
D-04179 Leipzig
Tel: +49 341 124 79 610
kontakt@2bahead.com
Web: www.thinktank-universe.com

Follow us